Las Vegas Burn Injury Attorney – How we Win your case
Burn injuries can be very serious and cause permanent damage to the skin and any underlying tissues and organs. Burns can be life altering and cause permanent injury and paralysis. Oftentimes death can occur from very serious burns. Burns leave victims more susceptible to other infection, and the scars may linger for life. Justice and maximum compensation is a way of helping victims get on with their lives.
Victims of burn injuries may even be eligible for putative damages if the defendant intentionally caused the injuries. In most cases burn victims can receive money damages even if they were partially at fault for the accident: The main exception is if the burn victim was more than 50% responsible than the defendant for the injury.
Can a Las Vegas burn injury lawyer help me?
Yes. A burn victim is entitled to compensatory money damages. In order to win a burn case negligence claim in Nevada (and throughout the United States), your attorney needs to prove the following four elements:
- The defendant(s) owed the plaintiff (injured party) a duty of care;
- The defendant(s) breached this duty;
- This breach was the cause of the plaintiff's injury; and
- This injury resulted in damages.
Types of burn injuries
There are five categories of burn injuries. Below are examples of how carelessness or intentional acts of a person or entity can result in these injuries:
- Thermal burns, from flames or hot objects. For example, a person drops a lit match or cigarette in a flammable area.
- Chemical burns, also called caustic burns, from chemicals. For example, a hairdresser can leave chemicals on a customer's hair or scalp too long resulting in severe burns.
- Scalds, from hot liquids or steam. For example, an apartment complex does not have there water heater in working order so the hot faucet water, causes skin burns.
- Electrical burns, from charged metals and wiring. For example, a grocery store fails to fix an exposed live wire, causing a patron to get electrocuted when walking on it.
- Inhalation burns, from breathing in smoke. For example, an apartment fire breaks out and the other tenants are forced to breathe in the fumes.
Some burns heal, like minor first-degree burns. Second-degree burns are more serious burns. Third-degree burns are even more severe burn injuries, often requiring skin grafts. Fourth-degree burns can cause lifelong consequences, disfigurement, and require expensive long-term care.
What if you were partly to blame for the injury?
A burn victim should be eligible to recover damages in a personal injury case as long as he/she was less than 50% at fault. Predictably, victims who are blameless are eligible for the most money damages. And the financial compensation lessens in proportion to the amount he/she contributed to the accident.
Can I recover for pain and suffering for my burns?
Burn victims may be able to receive money for “pain and suffering” under Nevada law. Unlike medical bills or lost wages, non-economic damages such as “pain and suffering” cannot be easily quantified but our experienced lawyers can get you top compensation and money for your burns.
Can I get punitive damages for my burns?
Yes, if the defendant behaved in a reckless, intentional, or malicious manner and was not merely negligent. Nevada law generally caps punitive damages at:
- Three (3) times the amount of compensatory damages if the amount of compensatory damages is $100,000 or more; or
- $300,000 dollars if the amount of compensatory damages is less than $100,000.
However, there is no punitive damages cap in Nevada when the burn injury results from:
- A defective product,
- Radioactive or hazardous material,
- A criminal act
- DUI (if the drug or alcohol consumption was willful).
Who can I sue?
Common defendants in a burn injury case include:
- The person who caused the burn,
- The company or premises that was negligent
- The employer of the person who causes the burn (if the person was acting in the course of his/her employment during the incident),
- The manufacturer or seller of the product which caused the burn
How Quickly should I act?
Burn victims in Nevada have two (2) years following the accident to sue for personal injury.
Hurt ? Contact Us For A Free Consultation.
Because of our long history of handling all types of auto accident cases, we have the answers you need to help put your life back together.
There Are Time Limits On When You Can Take Legal Action.
Time is of the essence. Please contact Stovall & Associates today for a free, no risk consultation. Remember when you hire Stovall & Associates, we go all in with you, and you pay nothing until we win your case! You will always talk with an attorney when you call our firm, day or night. We are here for you.
If you or a loved one was harmed in a burn accident, phone our Las Vegas burn injury attorneys. We offer free case evaluations where we discuss how we can fight for the largest financial reward possible in your case to cover your medical bills, pain and suffering, lost earnings, and other costs. We can usually secure a favorable settlement through negotiation, but if necessary we can take your case all the way to a jury.